Banjo Kazooie – Nintendo 64

Banjo Kazooie was my very first video game. Since this game brings back many memories for me, I decided to write a special blog about it. It’s a role-playing, adventure game about a bear, Banjo, and his bird, Kazooie. They go out on an adventure to save Banjo’s sister that was kidnapped by the witch, Gruntilda.

When I was in the first grade, my dad rented this game for me as well as a Fifa soccer game. I was more into Banjo Kazooie than Fifa. I enjoyed listening to the soundtrack of all the levels, and watching the acts Banjo does when he opens a door or gets a puzzle piece. I used to think that Spiral Mountain was the only level on the game. My mom helped me get through this level and some of the harder missions. I went one day to Toys-R-Us to see the games with my father. I told him that I wanted this game so bad. He told me that he will think about it. Video games were sold differently in the late 1990’s. The games were behind the glass, and once you decided on a game you take a paper with the name of the game on it. Your game will be given to you when you are checking out. Back in the days my parents were very strict with me about playing video games. I was only allowed to play during the weekends. So I used to take advantage of my weekends and wake up very early in the morning to play it.

One day we had guests come over with their children. As I was playing Banjo-Kazooie with their children, my mom came called me. I wondered what she wanted from me. She got a box from a bag. It was a brand new Banjo-Kazooie game! Words couldn’t describe my happiness. I can’t remember if I continued playing with the rented game so my friends won’t destroy the new cartilage, or if I played with the new game.

It took me about eight years to complete 90%, and it was the only game I had for six years. My parents then bought me Mario Kart 64 and Tony Hawks Pro Skater 3. The only level I didn’t get to was the final one called “The Final Battle”. I lacked the puzzle pieces to open the door, and the missions were hard to beat. I completed the entire game when I was in high school using my laptop, not the Nintendo 64. I used a Nintendo 64 emulator, Project64.

The following are the levels that are in the game.

  1. Gruntilda’s Lair
  2. Spiral Mountain
  3. Mumbo’s Mountain
  4. Treasure Trove Cove
  5. Clanker’s Cavern
  6. Bubblegloop Swamp
  7. Freezeezy Peak
  8. Goby’s Valley
  9. Mad Monster Mansion
  10. Rusty Bucket Bay
  11. Click Clock Wood
  12. Grunty’s Furnace Fun
  13. Final Battle

Leave a Reply

