Shrove Tuesday isn’t the same as National Pancake Day.

This morning, I assumed that it was “National Pancake Day” because I read on the web that it was “Pancake Day”. I called a few friends of mine to see if they are interested in going to IHOP with me to celebrate this day. After all, my university classes were all closed for two days due to the weather, and I’ve been craving pancakes for a long time. We had approximately eight inches of snow this Tuesday. When we arrived to IHOP, one of my friends saw a sign on the window that said free pancakes. This is going to be good I assumed. As our waiter was taking our orders I asked him about their offers during National Pancake Day. He told me that this day isn’t until February the 28th. He also said that they will have free pancakes all day on March the 3rd. I was perplexed. As we were waiting for our orders to come, I Google searched “National Pancake Day”. It was on February 28th! Where in the world did I see that today was the day? By the way, I ordered the Original Buttermilk Pancakes with a hot chocolate. I did some research on the web when I went back home to prove that I was right. It turned out that today was “Shrove Tuesday” and not “National Pancakes Day”. However, Shrove Tuesday is also known as Pancake Day.
“”Shrove Tuesday (known in some countries as Pancake Day) is a day in February or March, preceding Ash Wednesday (the first day of Lent), which is celebrated in some countries by consuming pancakes.”” Wikipedia.
Leave a Reply

