My Cousin’s Dislocated Arm – Nursemaid’s Elbow

Nursemaid’s Elbow – Radial Head Subluxation 

One evening as my family and I were going out of the cafe, my aunt accidentally grabbed my cousin from her hand and lifted her upward. I heard a pop! My three-year old cousin has always had a weak spot in her left arm. She started to shout and cry unconsciously. I bit my lips so hard I could feel the blood come out. We didn’t know what to do. I called my dad for help, and my aunt told him exactly what has happened. My dad immediately held her elbow using his left hand, and using his right hand he extended her arm towards him and flexed it.

The issue was that the radius in her forearm was dislocated from the elbow and stuck in the annular ligament. The symptom is called a Nursemaid’s Elbow.
Leave a Reply

